URL: manoirdelahougue.fr/en/?

Welcome to Le Manoir de La Hougue - Gite for holiday rental

Manor de La HougueThe manor of la Hougue, located in Lestre in Cotentin in Normandy, was built in the XVth century. It has belonged to Lucas de Nehou (founder of the glass factory at La Glacerie and founder of the Saint-Gobain company). He developed the stained glass technology, which was used during the construction of the Palais des Glaces de Versailles. This technology was overtaken by the Sicilians, who discovered how to make bigger windows with stained glass.

The manor is flanked by three towers, including one exclusively defensive, including “mobile gun loops“, unique in the area.Manor de La Hougue - Mobile gun loops The stone, carved in a key hole shape, is mobile to reach a wider angle of fire. The mounting block on the door step was used to mount horses. The manor still has a part of the moat and its defensive walls. Inside the dwelling, the coat of arms of Lucas de Néhou is on display on the imposing fireplaces.

Monique Fauvette, the current owner of the manor, is offering you, in the old refurbished apple pressing room, a comfortable gite for your weekends and holidays for 5 people.

She will be happy to share tips and history of the house, the particularities of the cultural and architectural assets of this beautiful area close to Quinéville, the D-Day beaches, Saint-Mère-Eglise, the ports of St Vaast La Hougue and Barfleur, Tatihou Island, Montebourg, Valognes and Cherbourg....

Equestrian gite and cyclotourism

The gite also welcomes horse owners and bicycle riders. The gite includes the possibility of stabling and feeding horses (contact landlord for and a bike storage area.

URL: manoirdelahougue.fr/?

Bienvenue au Manoir de La Hougue - Location gîte vacances

Manoir de La HougueLe manoir de La Hougue situé à Lestre dans le Cotentin en Normandie a été construit au XVIe siècle. Il a appartenu à Lucas de Nehou (fondateur de fabrique de verre à La Glacerie et fondateur de Saint-Gobain). Il a découvert le principe des vitres. Le palais des glaces de Versailles est créé avec cette manufacture. Celle ci fut détrônée par les Siciliens qui ont découvert comment faire des vitres plus grandes que les vitraux.

Le manoir est flanqué de trois tours dont l'une est essentiellement défensive, présence "d'arquebusières mobiles" unique dans la région.Manoir de La Hougue - Arquebusières mobiles défensives La pierre creusée d'un trou de serrure tourne pour avoir un angle plus grand. Perron montoir à cheval. Le manoir possède encore une partie de ses douves et des murs défensifs. A l'intérieur de la demeure les armoiries de Lucas de Néhou sont présentes sur les cheminées monumentales.

Monique Fauvette, aujourd'hui propriètaire du manoir, vous propose dans l'ancien pressoir réaménagé, un gîte confortable pour vos week-ends et vacances pour 5 personnes.

Elle sera vous faire découvrir avec plaisir les bons plans et l'histoire, les particularités du patrimoine culturel et architectural de cette belle région proche de Quinéville, des plages du débarquement, de Saint-Mère-Eglise (D-Day), des ports de Saint-Vaast-La-Hougue et Barfleur, de l’île de Tatihou, de Valognes, Montebourg et Cherbourg...

Gîte équestre et cyclotourisme

Le gîte accueille également les randonneurs à cheval et à vélo. Le gîte dispose de boxes et nourriture pour les chevaux et un local pour les vélos.